Junior C1 Final Report - Sunday 7th October 2018


Full Match on YouTube

Rahoon Newcastle defeated Tynagh Abbey Duniry yesterday in a windy Loughrea to win the Junior C1 Champions for the first time on a scoreline of 0-13 to 1-9. This was the clubs first time to have three adult mens teams. After winning Junior C last year a third team was entered into the C1 competition to cater for the growing number of players.


At half time Rahoon led by 10 points to 4 points having played with the breeze. A Tynagh goal early in the second half closed the gap to two points but Rahoon held on to secure back to back Junior championships. This was the teams tenth game in the competition with just the one loss. There were great performances in the defence from goalkeeper John Keane, Sean Heffernan, Robert Keane, Sean Coyne, James Kerr, Paul Joyce and captain Mark Keane. In midfield Diarmuid O Connor and Brian Madden were on top and in our forwards Tim Gilmore, Kevin Derrane, Damien O Brien, Paul Doolin, Peter Killeen and Darach Mac Con Iomaire all worked hard in tough conditions. Subs Bryan Cloherty, Josh Curtin, Tom Clancy and Andrew O Halloran all made big contributions on their introductions. The celebrations kicked off with a spin around the parish with the new trophy and continued into the early hours in Sheridans, Knocknacarra. Huge credit to management team of Pat McGrath, Robert Earley, John Kerr and Seamus Burke.

Back row L-R John Kerr, Josh Curtin, Matt Dunne, Mathew Fiorentini, Robert Shannon, Sean Coyne, Lenny Curtin, James Kerr, David Keane, Tom Clancy, Paul Joyce, Tim Gilmore, Alan Kelly, Robert Earley, Seamus Burke, Tom Keane, Daithi O Gaodhra, Robert Keane and Bobby Keane

Front row L-R Pat McGrath, Sean Heffernan, Brian Madden, Bryan Cloherty, Rory Coyle, Brian Maloney, Paul Doolin, John Keane, Kevin Derrane, Mark Keane, Diarmuid O Connor, Damien O Brien, Andrew O Halloran, Peter Killeen, Darach Mac Con Iomaire.

Mascots - Cian and Conor Cloherty

© 2018 Rahoon Newcastle